Using Strong and Smooth in Image Stabilization

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Tomas Stacewicz

Using Strong and Smooth in Image Stabilization

PostMon Nov 14, 2016 11:11 am

Hi everyone,

I'm new to DaVinci Resolve and am currently working on my first project, a camera test movie. I used a simple pistol grip / shoulder brace combo rig for my Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera for handheld shots. I'm working around to stabilize shaky handheld footage. Iv'e read the parts in the manual which deals with Strong and Smooth, and have understood that Strong controls camera movements and Smooth...eh, something like smoothness to the camera movement, such as wiggling or some sort of thing.

To be honest, I have nor real clue what the actual difference is between Strong and Smooth, what the difference is between camera movement and camera wiggling. Some shots in my project work better with a higher Strong and others with a higher Smooth level, but I haven't figuered out why yet.

Any clues on this matter? Do you, based on your experience with Resolve, have any recommendations what particular kind of shaky footage is best dealt with Strong and what footage is best dealt with Smooth, or a somewhat equal combination of the two?

I probably will learn the difference between the two over the years, but perhaps some of you more experienced may share a though or two on this subject matter?

Thank you in advance,
Tomas
Camera
BMPCC
Zenit Meteor 5-1
LOMO OKS 3-10-1

Workstation
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 12.5.4.019
ASUS X99-A
Intel Core i7 5820K 3.3 GHz 15MB
16GB RAM Corsair DDR4 2133MHz CL13 Vengeance
ASUS GeForce GTX 1060 Dual OC 3GB
Samsung 750 EVO 500GB SSD

Sam Steti

Re: Using Strong and Smooth in Image Stabilization

PostMon Nov 14, 2016 2:35 pm

Hey,

You should make your own tests, I did it when wondering about the same...