Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion has me completely befuddled

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

NeilMyers

Fusion has me completely befuddled

PostSun May 05, 2024 12:18 am

I'm a 15 year Adobe user. I am an expert in Premiere, After Effects and Photoshop. I am competent in Audition.

I came over to Resolve for two reasons:

1) Stability (Adobe should be embarrassed at how unstable their products are AND ALWAYS HAVE BEEN).

2) Color correction/grading. I produced a documentary and HATED having to port a clean copy of the picture-locked doc to a consultant, where I spent $12K to have her color correct and grade the doc. She was awesome, but I would prefer to do my own grading, but Adobe doesn't hold a candle to DaVinci for color.

Until now it has been wonderful. I love the way Resolve edits, and Color is amazing. But now I am in Fusion and I am having a lot of trouble.

By way of background, I am highly experienced in After Effects -- the concept of compositing and animating pixels doesn't confuse me. But after two days of reading, online training, and YouTube classes, I'm ready to give up.

My task seems relatively easy. I have drone footage circling a building. I have still images I want to composite onto the roofs of the buildings. I needed three simple things:

1. A way to warp the still image into the right perspective

2. A way to animate the perspective over time since it changes.

3) A way to build some masks:

a) A mask so the image ONLY appears on the roof

b) A mask for extraneous things that should block the still images (trees, other buildings, etc.